Jul 8, 2013

Memory Lane Monday: A Fractured Light by Jocelyn Davies

Yes, it is that time of the week. The day we dread and wish would never come- Mondays. *Wipes tear* But have no fear, Memory Lane Monday is here! Every Monday, here at TheYABookworm, I'll do a special post called Memory Lane Monday. What's that you ask? Memory Lane Monday is a once-a-week post where I (or any other bloggers that wish to participate)  choose one book that I've previously read to be featured on that day. From the book chosen, I will pick two of my favourite quotes and write a little blurb containing my quick thoughts on the book. The books that I choose will not be books I've reviewed- since I've read so many books, I want to share with you my opinions on ones that I won't get the chance to fully review (because seriously, rereading dozens of books would take a year...or two)! Be sure to participate by leaving your "Memory Lane Monday" in the comments, or a link to your blog post with the hash-tag #YAMemoryLaneMonday on twitter :D
~~~~~~

This Week's Memory Lane Monday....
A Fractured Light By: Jocelyn Davies
When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. It's not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories come flooding back. She tries to put the past behind her, but she knows she'll be forever haunted by the ruthless betrayal that almost took her life.                                    
Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she's capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can't forget the terrifying truth she now knows about the Order, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion.                                              
A Fractured Light picks up right after A Beautiful Dark's shocking cliffhanger ending and is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate's Fallen and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush saga.
Top Two Favourite Quotes...
#1 “Why would he do that? I thought--he said--he loved me."
 "As if I needed a reason to hate him more," Asher muttered, avoiding my gaze.

#2 “I love Colorado. The mountains are so passionate. They just make me want to run to the top and yell obscene things to the valleys below." 




     When I read the first novel in this series, A Beautiful Dark, I was immediately hooked into absolutely loving  the plot, characters and romantic elements that made up that novel. The huge cliffhanger at the end of the first novel made me absolutely desperate for book two, and when I finally got to reading A Fractured Light, I had high expectations for it! After just recently finishing it, I have to say A Fractured Light definitely had a strong case of middle-book-in-a-trilogy syndrome. There isn't a whole lot of things happening, the ending isn't enough to get you crazy for book three and the love triangle is as frustrating as ever.

     I didn't hate A Fractured Light, it actually held my attention pretty much the whole way through. However, after reflecting back on it, I can say it didn't do anything to enhance my love for the series-- it's kind of left me numb over my feelings for book three. In all honesty, I think the reasoning behind this is was due to Skye's character. I can't even begin to describe how annoyed I was with her while reading A Fractured Light and it's all because of this love triangle/ love square. At the beginning of the book Skye is with Asher and everything is butterflies and unicorns, but that doesn't stop Skye from continuously going back and forth from Asher to Devin (yes, even though he stabbed her -_- *face palm*) and sometimes even Ian! This whole wish washy-ness coming from Skye was just so frustrating to read because whenever she'd be with Asher she'd talk all about how "that is where she belongs," but then she'd get jealous the minute one of the other guys seemed to be moving on. Seeing as I am totally and completely Team Asher, I really hope this situation doesn't continue the whole way through book three because I don't know how much of it I'm going to be able to take.

     The next novel in the Beautiful Dark trilogy, A Radiant Sky, is set to be released on September 24th, 2013. I'm interested in seeing how this trilogy ends and how the events at the end of book two will effect the third novel. I'm hoping to do a full review for that one so I can fully disect not only the love triangle but the actual plot points that are important to this trilogy. Have you read A Fractured Light? What are your thoughts on love triangles in general? Be sure to let me know in the comments below! Keep Reading!

Your Y.A. Bookworm,
Caitlin <3

2 comments:

  1. I haven't staerted with this series yet, but I've been meaning to for a while now. I think the whole love triangle/square might be a problem for me as well, I hate them! My heart suffers a lot through them :( Oh well, we'll see how this series turn out for me. Thanks for sharing this post and for reminding me to bump them up my reading list!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hear you-- love triangles/squares just emotionally drain me! By the end of the book I'm just exhausted from mentally pushing the heroine towards the guy I'm rooting for :P Glad I was able to encourage you to read this series a little sooner rather than later :D

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...